Daily Archives: November 21, 2013

Just In Time Learning: Final Learning Project What to do Next???

Image

Picture from Woodleywonderworks shared under Creative Commons Attribution

It’s funny how serendipitous it can feel when you are struggling with what to do next and then you come across exactly what you needed to ‘hear’.  So thank you Ryan Josephson !

Final Learning Project Woes:

Started with a goal:  I knew my learning goal was to change my practice and philosophy on using technology in the classroom.  ECI 831 is helping me to meet that goal, but I also wanted to learn more, so, I decided to take a MOOC called Hybrid Courses: Best of Both Worlds.  I chose this MOOC to learn more about the buzz on flipped classrooms and blended learning and to consider how I could use these practices to transform learning in my classroom.

The MOOC was four weeks and I participated in it fully by contributing to the online discussion forums and doing the readings, watching the videos and started to work on my own planner for teaching a unit.

But I have been stuck for the last couple of days wondering how this translates into a learning project???

I sat down to figure that out and of course procrastinated. So, I went to our course blog hub to see what others have been up to.  Ryan’s post was the first one I read and it was exactly what I needed.

Ryan outlined four steps of a learning project:

“I found a great description of a learning project on Howard Rheingold’s Blog which just happened to be about Alec Couros and The Connected Teacher. The basic idea behind a learning project is this:

1. Learn a skill, concept or idea you know very little or nothing about but that you’re interested in learning.

2. Document the learning. Write about it, video tape, audio record, whatever.

3. Consider all the sources you use to learn. Collect those resources.

4. Take an early baseline snapshot of your understand at the beginning and another one at the end. Compare and analyze.”

I have been doing all of these things!  Now I just need to synthesize them into one ‘location’ or medium.  Although easier said than done when choosing – too many options!!

Thanks for the much needed direction Ryan!